top of page
  • Writer's pictureGibbo thegreat

You Can't See Me by Eva Björg Ægisdóttir, Victoria Cribb (Translator), Forbidden Iceland #4

Many thanks to @orendabooks @annecater & @evaaegisdottir for this fantastic story.

"You Can't See Me" is the exciting prequel to Eva Björg Ægisdóttir's bestseller, Forbidden Iceland series.

As the book starts, the reader witnesses a woman walking alone outside in a snowstorm, away from a hotel. Why would she be out here in the dark and cold with no one else? And who is the person who is following her? The author takes us on a journey to a few days prior, where we observe the arrival of the influential and powerful Snæberg family to a lavish hotel in Iceland for a family gathering. A body has been discovered at the location where the police are currently responding to an incident. Is the Snæberg family connected to the incident?

The story is told from different perspectives, including teenager Lea, her mother Petra, Tryggvi, Aunt Oddny's partner, Irma, a hotel employee who is fascinated by the famous lot, and others.

This story's plot is masterfully crafted, with many different elements to manage! There are countless red herrings in the mystery, including the unknown identity of the victim and the killer, as almost everyone seems to have a secret. Despite the many characters, each one is well developed and some shocking secrets are revealed. A book that is an absolute must-read, filled with dark secrets. I absolutely loved it!


About the Author

Born in Akranes in 1988, Eva Björg Ægisdóttir studied for an MSc in globalisation in Norway before returning to Iceland to write her first novel. Combining writing with work as a stewardess and caring for her children, Eva finished her debut thriller The Creak on the Stairs, which was published in 2018. It became a bestseller in Iceland, going on to win the Blackbird Award. Published in English by Orenda Books in 2020, it became a digital number-one betseller in three countries, was shortlisted for the Capital Crime/Amazon Publishing Awards in two categories and won the CWA John Creasey Dagger in 2021. Girls Who Lie, the second book in the Forbidden Iceland series was shortlisted for

the Petrona Award and the CWA Crime in Translation Dagger, and Night Shadows followed suit.

With over 200,000 copies sold in English alone, Eva has become one of Iceland’s – and crime-

fiction’s – most highly regarded authors. She lives in Reyjavik with her husband and three children.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page