top of page
  • Writer's pictureGibbo thegreat

The Reaper's Quota (The Reaper Chronicles #1) by Sarah McKnight

Many thanks to @The_WriteReads/@WriteReadsTours/@bbnya_official @foliosociety for the opportunity to read #TheReapersQuota by @mcknight_writes, which came 5th in the competition. The Reaper’s Quota is the first book in the Reaper Chronicles series by Sarah McKnight. It's about Grim Reaper #2497. They don't go by names; they go by a number. All reapers have Assigned Deaths to complete, but they also have a quota of thirty Random Deaths every month. Being a grim reaper, that wouldn't be a problem, but reaper #2497 has a problem with that. He chooses he's victims wisely, only taking victims of accidents, diseases or suicides, not healthy people. During the novel, we find out he's remembering things from when he was Human and that's not allowed. He questions he's actions and of his fellows reapers; he realises he wants to become human again, but is it possible? Loved the Random Death Sheet he has to fill in after every life he takes. That was hilarious. I enjoyed this hilarious dark comedy, it's a quick read and highly recommended. It finishes with a cliffhanger and currently, book 2 is on offer.


Sarah McKnight has been writing stories since she could pick up a pencil, and it often got her in trouble during math class. After a brief stint teaching English to unruly middle schoolers in Japan, she decided she wasn’t going to put off her dream of becoming a writer any longer and set to work. With several novels in the making, she hopes to tackle issues such as anxiety, depression, and letting go of the past - with a little humor sprinkled in, too. A St. Louis native, she currently lives in Pennsylvania with her wonderful husband and three cats.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page